Random Amusings 3

Take that to the bank.

Take that to the (piggy) bank.

1. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – As plans for Game Night Part Deux failed miserably, I decided to go watch this movie on Saturday. Alone. For some reason, I was quite excited. It was going to be the first movie I had ever seen in a theater by myself. (That is, until a girl came in the picture last minute. But hey, I ain’t complaining.) I would hesitate to say that it was a great movie, but it definitely belonged in the category of “solid, feel good movies” overall. I still say Slumdog Millionaire is the best picture of the year, though BB will probably capture a few golden statues anyway. Pitt and Blanchett turned in some stellar performances and some scenes could not be more beautifully shot. It’s not a movie that left me saying “Wow” like SM did but it grew on me the more I digested it. I could not help but compare the movie and some of its elements to Forrest Gump–which happened to be written by the same guy, Eric Roth, by the way–but they are subtle enough that one may not notice. Overall, it is a movie that tells an interesting story and shares a beautiful message about life. If you can fork over $11 at a theater, watch it now. If you’d like a date, add another $11 (and the rest of your wallet, for that matter. Just kidding. Kinda). If not, wait for it to come out on DVD.

*Update: my good friend Chris says it is not socially acceptable to be watching movies by yourself in the theater until at least your mid-30s. Well, Mr. Cho, I will just have to be unacceptable then, won’t I? Haha.

2. Chinese New Year – We celebrated last night and had a relatively subdued night of festivities, especially since it was just my family and another family friend. But the Mamas still rocked the kitchen: we had about 9 or 10 dishes, I couldn’t keep track. All I know was that I had a hard time breathing at the end of it all; I was the only man sitting at the table, almost two hours after we had begun, finishing all the leftover scraps of crab that I could scour. But my tongue was satisfied. Also, interestingly enough, this was the first time that I ever received a Red Envelope from somebody who wasn’t Chinese! My Black co-worker friend came up to the Studio (my new workplace) to hand me a “Bank of America” Red Envelope; inside was a bill with “Jefferson” on it. (Can’t remember what amount? $2!) That was pretty awesome. So…what do I do for her when Kwanzaa rolls around?

It is now officially the year of the Ox! After a tough 2008, will it be the year of the Yan? That remains to be seen. I guess we might just have to wait and see…

3. Story Ideas?? – Alas, my screenplay Touchdown Jesus did not make it onto the next round of the 2008 Kairos Screenplay Contest. I’m sure there were several top entries and that I was running up against some very high competition. And it was really only my first attempt at a full-length feature screenplay. Nevertheless, I am still very proud of it. It took a good two and a half months to complete, and it was like nursing a babe for almost a good trimester at that. (Ladies, with three times the nursing period and innumerable times of pain, I don’t know how you do it, but definitely much respect.)

Now, I’m on to new projects. I got a project proposal coming up in February, and then possibly a collaborative effort with a friend in the summer. In the meantime, I’m turning my focus more towards poetry and short stories. I’m possibly aiming for the Writer’s Digest Contest this May. Anybody have any fascinating stories or ideas they would like to contribute?

4. Crossfit Work-outs – To all my fellow skinny brothas out there, this is a work-out that you must simply try out! JB and MJ got me started on this thing, and though I haven’t been following it nearly as religiously as they have, it has helped me get into shape and increased my overall power and practical strength. JB preaches this thing more than anybody else, and after seeing his results and using it myself, I can see why. (I can now lift a box of feathers!) The exercises target every part of your body, and each day’s exercise consists of a different activity. It focuses on natural movements of your hands, arms, legs, and feet–the way it should be–and it is absolutely KILLER if you follow their entire schedule (you’ll be doing a lot of pull-ups, dips, burpees, and thrusters…). Best of all, it’s all FREE and it teaches you how to do a certain exercise if you’re not familiar. Visit http://www.crossfit.com if you are serious about being healthy and feeling good.

5. Super Bowl XLIII – (I’ll give you props if you could tell me what number that is…haha.) This is the first year, at least in a long time, that I will not be hosting a Super Bowl party at my house. My HD antenna at home is just simply unreliable. That is quite the shame, considering the huge TV that sits in the middle of my parents’ living room. (I had to hold up the antenna a few times when friends were over for previous games, just so the signal didn’t move in and out…did I pay $20 for that thing so I can be the antenna?) Let me know if there is a party out there, because this is one thing I don’t want to be watching by myself. Holler at the China-man!

2 responses to “Random Amusings 3

  1. ok ok maybe not mid 30s. let’s say…late 20s.

    eh but what do i know? screw the social norms and do whatever makes you feel comfortable.

Leave a Reply

