Pray For Haiti

A 7.0 magnitude earthquake rocked Haiti on Tuesday. I went to work that morning and saw the news scroll through MSN’s website. To be honest, I was saddened, but I didn’t make too much of it. Until I realized my sponsor child from World Vision, Witzmith, lived in Port-au-Prince.

Suddenly my heart got heavy. And I slumped low in my chair, dipped my head in my hands and closed my eyes. I prayed for Haiti. I prayed for Witzmith and his mother and father and five brothers and sisters. I prayed all day.

We’ve never met, though we’ve exchanged letters to each other. We lived two separate lives, in two radically different worlds. But I never felt more connected to him than now, through this–a disaster. For the first time, he became more than just a $35 a month line on my credit card statement.

Witzmith might be alive, and I hope to God he is. But it doesn’t take away from the dilapidated homes and crumbled roads. It doesn’t take away from friends or family he might know who weren’t as fortunate to make it out–the estimated 100,000 or more.

Please pray for Haiti. May God comfort the brokenhearted.

Leave a Reply

