7:41

My friend Earl passed away earlier tonight. I just got the news from my pastor through email. It reads, “Earl went home to be with the Lord at 7:41pm this evening.” I don’t know how I feel. My heart is heavy. It just seemed like yesterday we were sitting at church, talking about the upcoming UCLA basketball season.

I can’t say that I’m totally surprised. He had been losing his health the past few weeks. But I thought that he’d at least pull through this year. Maybe it was the weather change. His body was as frail as ever. It’s just unfortunate.

I’m disappointed that I didn’t get to say my proper farewell. I wish I could have told him how he made me smile with his stories and jokes and sharp basketball knowledge. Then again, I know I’ll get to see him again one day and tell him in person.

We will always remember how you made us smile in the time you were here. God bless you, Earl. You’re with the angels now.

Comments are closed.