Break Free Again

When was the last time you did something for fun? I’m talking about doing something just for the sake of it. No agenda, no ulterior motive, no strings attached–but you are engaged simply for the pure joy of that activity?

I ask you this because I had to ask myself the same thing. Without my realizing it, life had gradually become a long list of things to do: movies to watch, books to read, projects to complete, people I had to see. Somewhere in my adulthood the joy and freedom I had had in living and simply “being” turned into obligation. I started reading books because they were books I was supposed to have read at my age. Basketball became a mechanism for bodily health and exercise instead of a channel for fun and entertainment. Bills. Appointments. Everything became a numbers game.

Society has a way of inundating us with ideas that we’re nothing apart from our paychecks and medals. It tells us that we are what we do. It’s unfortunate that so many of us have our identities wrapped up in our work. But it’s been said that we’re not human doings, but human beings. God created us to enjoy him and the things he has created. We have been given passions and talents that bridge us in an ever subtle way with our Maker. I think we need to return to that. Not to shirk responsibilities or to quit our jobs, but to remember that life is meant to be enjoyed. Or…what are we working for anyway?

Do something that refills you. Challenges you. Grows you. Do something that pours into you and not the other way around. To end, I’ll leave you with this quote from the Dalai Lama who was asked: “What thing about humanity surprises you the most?”

“Man…Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.” 

4 responses to “Break Free Again

Leave a Reply

